Schedule 4 of the Migration Regulations 1994 (‘MR’), contains a number of Public Interest Criteria, against which visa applicants are assessed (depending on the subclass).

What is Public Interest Criteria?

The Public Interest Criteria in Schedule 4 of the MR contain 22 separate criterion. They touch on requirements such as health, character, consent to removal of children, and Australian values, amongst other things.

Why do the Public Interest Criteria exist?

Public Interest Criteria 4020 in particular was introduced in 2011. In very general terms, it allows certain visa applications to be refused where a bogus document and/or false/misleading information has been provided.

To whom do Public Interest Criteria apply?

From April 2011, Public Interest Criteria 4020 only applied to certain visa subclasses. That changed in 2013, with a change in Federal government.

From 1 July 2013 however, it applied to an application for all family stream visas made (but not finally determined) before 1 July 2013 or any such applications made on or after 1 July 2013.

Does it apply to me?

If you are wondering whether these criteria apply to you, or if you would like further information, please contact us. You can email us (and you’ll have a response in less than 48 hours) »


Share This

Related Posts